Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

To the Community of Estherville

October 22, 2011
Estherville Daily News

To the Editor,

On behalf of the ELC School Foundation, I would like to thank the many businesses and members of our community that made our 17th annual "Champions in Education" banquet a great success.

This year's honorees, Tony & Jody Condon, are tremendous examples of what it means to be a "Champion". Their entire family has a great dedication to improving our schools and our community. Our foundation relies on banquet sponsorship to cover our costs and to ensure continued growth to support our grants and scholarships. This year's 28 sponsors are a wonderful display of the support we have in our community for the educational needs of our youth. We thank all of our sponsors and urge everyone to return their support by doing business locally. They are listed here.

Avera Holy Family Health, Henry-Olson Funeral Home, Bank Plus, Houseman Oil/Riverside Sinclair, Drs. Baker & Webb, OD, Hy-Vee, Blum & Leonard Agency, Iowa Lakes Electric Coop, Bob & Lili Jensen-Bob Jensen Ag, Jensen's Furniture Store, Dave Howard LPA Firm, Mid-America Transport, Daybreak Foods,Motor Inn Auto Group, Edward Jones Investments, Nelson, Gayer, & VerSteeg, PLC, Emmet County State Bank, NorthStar Bank & Agency, Estherville Foods,Northwest Bank, Estherville Noon Kiwanis, PEO Chapter ON, Estherville Rotary, Racine's for Him/Her, Greig & Company, Woody's Pizza

These sponsors each donated $200. Additional donations were made by Super 8, Estherville Abstract, Employees Credit Union, Roy's Auto, Heartland Americana, Springer Sales, and River Foods(Hardees). We also thank Clarken Auctioneering, KILR & EDN, Betty's Flower Box, cat tales anteeks, and the Estherville Elks Lodge for a delicious meal. The ELC Foundation also received many memorial contributions in 2011. Please visit our website to view these donations. Music was provided by Jennifer (Johnson) Heller throughout the evening. Thank you Jennifer!

The beautiful desserts for our annual dessert auction were made by Laurie Olson, Amy Jo Lyon (daughter of our treasurer Dave Howard), Vicki Alvarez of Hy-Vee, Shari Bisgaard, CPT, and the foundation board's own Doug Wagner. The auction was a great success, and we say a special thank you to those that purchased the desserts: Woody's Pizza, Motor Inn, Northstar Bank & Agency, Estherville Foods, the Eyecare Centre, and Hy-Vee.

For the first time, the Foundation sponsored a raffle with 3 great prizes. Thank you to Curt and Sue Dare for donating a week's stay at a resort in Cancun. And thank you to Top Hat BBQ & Catering for donating catering for a party of 50. Linda Eckard won the trip to Cancun. Edith Clarken won the BBQ party, and Luann Swanson won a housekeeper for a year sponsored by the ELC Foundation. Thank you to all those that purchased a ticket. The Foundation will use these funds to benefit our schools right away.

ELC School Foundation projects include scholarships, recognition of valedictorian and salutatorian, purchasing books and extra learning materials & equipment, helping to fund field trips, and we also cover the costs for swimming lessons for the 2nd and 3rd grades at the RWC. Our Key Grants are funded by payroll deductions given to the Foundation by many employees within our school system and benefit every class from K-12. We're able to continue these projects because of our banquet sponsorships and ticket sales, from memorials, through donations of stock for estate and tax planning, and by establishing scholarships in a loved one's name. You can read more about the ELC School Foundation by visiting our website

I would also like to say thank you to the volunteers that make up the ELC School Foundation Board of Directors. They are Theresa VerSteeg, Dave Howard, Kevin Sander, Mary Beardsley, Edith Clarken, Bernadette Duitsman, Becki Hall, Mark Henry, Curt Dare, Andrea Nelson, Alice Mitts, Doug Wagner, Molly Jo Anderson, and Jodie Greig, our school board liaison. These people give up their time to promote the foundation's mission to improve education, and I appreciate their help and support. Our board secretary is Betty Ann Rosfjord who is a great help with everything the board does.

Again, a sincere thank you to all who have helped our foundation grow, and to the many "Champions in Education" that give their time and support to improve our school system.


Dr. Lisa Dreeszen

President, ELC School Foundation



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web