Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

Palo Alto, Dickinson results - Schultes earns most votes in four-way race for sheriff

November 7, 2012
By David Swartz - Managing Editor , Estherville Daily News

EMMETSBURG - In Palo Alto County, one of the big races was for sheriff with four candidates vying for the position.

Democrat nominee Lynn J. Schultes was the top vote-getter with 1,832 votes while Republican Darrin E. Adams received 1,692 votes.

Two candidates nominated by petition, Todd D. Suhr and Russell B. Jergens, received 740 and 567 votes, respectively.

The other contested race was for County Supervisor District 3. Republican Edward Noonan received 531 votes with Democrat Leo E. Goeders receiving 372 votes.

In Dickinson County, the voters followed the trend for Iowa House District 2 in as Republican Megan Hess received 1,311 votes compared to 933 received by Democrat Steve Bomgaars. Hess led 7,300 to 5,692 for the seat late Tuesday evening.

In the race for county recorder, Republican Ann Ditsworth received 5,9338 votes compared to Janelle Treganza's 2,951. Treganza was nominated by petition.

Dickinson County approved a measure to increase the 911 surcharge to $1 pass with 5,447 'yes' votes to 3,474 'no' votes.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web