Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

G-T holds 2013 commencement

20 graduate at Graettinger

May 20, 2013
By David Swartz - Managing Editor , Estherville Daily News

GRAETTINGER - It was a day for reminiscing and looking forward to a new beginning at the 2013 Graettinger-Terril High School Commencement on Sunday.

Zachary Chicoine gave the welcome and thanked all those who helped the graduates make it to their special day.

James Tatman, a 2009 graduate of Graettinger-Terril, gave the alumni speaker address.

Tatman told the audience he is currently attending the University of Northern Iowa and studying how to start a non-profit group.

As a young wrestler he remembers going to camps, which charged $500 to $1,000. His goal is to make it easier for families to afford those types of activities.

To the graduating class, he talked about what it takes to be successful.

"You have to go out and find what you want to do," Tatman said.

Kathryn Noah and Tanner Naig provided highlights from the classmates' past 13 years in school-from times some got in trouble to the classroom romances and other highlights.

Amanda Aeilts gave the Valedictorian Address. She told classmates education is a cornerstone not a foundation. "Education allows us to work for what we want in life," she said.

Members of the Graettinger-Terril Class of 2013 are Amanda Jean Aeilts, Blaze Patrick Alesch, Zachary Alan Chicoine, Kyler Edward Dose, Logan Trey Flaharty, Cassondra Jo Hampson, Zackary Michael Harris, Alyssa Marie Hoffman, Anna Marie Kienol, Hunter James Miner, Tanner Charles Naig, Hannah Marie Neilson, Jeremy Lee Newgard, Kathryn Ann Noah, Brandon Michael Peyton, Austin Robert Wendell Rehm, Kevin James Smith, Nathan Lee Sorenson, Austin Robert Thompson and Connor Allen Tonderum.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web