Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

Incumbents favored in contested county race

Pluth & Quastad retain seats on supervisor board

November 9, 2018
Amy H. Peterson - Staff Writer ( , Estherville News

In the Emmet County race for two supervisor seats, the vote was split among incumbents John Pluth with 2,384 votes, Jeff Quastad with 2,261 votes and challenger Cole Beardsley with 1,333 votes. With two positions open, Pluth, a Republican, and Quastad, an independent, return to their seats on the county board of supervisors.

Unopposed candidates include county treasurer Brenda Moore, county recorder Diann Quastad Minion, and county attorney Melanie Summers Bauler. Bauler will take over for current county attorney Doug Hansen, who announced plans to retire earlier this year.

Trustees include: Jeff Felkey for Armstrong Grove, Dennis Hoffman for Lincoln, and Jerry Pluth for Center. There were no Trustees elected for Emmet or Iowa Lake Townships.

Article Photos

Clerks retained in their positions include John E. Klinbeil for Center, Phyllis Martens for Emmet, Deb Tietje for Iowa Lake, Jean Hoffman for Lincoln. No clerk was elected for Armstrong Grove.

Arden Kinnander and Don Valen were elected to the Soil & Water Conservation Board, along with Joan Eveleth who was elected to fill a vacancy.

Five members were voted to the County Agricultural Extension, including Crystal Claybaugh, Nancy Rosburg, Todd Eisenbacher, Greg Deim and Beth Wycoff.

District and appellate judges retained their seats, including David A. Lester, Nancy L. Whittenburg, Michael R. Mullins, Anuradha Vaitherswaran, and Mary Ellen Tabor.

Voter turnout was swift with 55.69 of eligible Emmet County voters casting ballots in Tuesday's election. 2,554 voted on Election Day while 1,243 voted absentee.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web