Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

Class 2A Sectional Wrestling - at Spencer And then there were three

Fitzgerald wins sectional; Peta, Diaz advance to district too

February 3, 2019
David Swartz - Managing Editor ( , Estherville News

SPENCER Three Estherville Lincoln Central wrestlers extended their seasons for another week following sectional action in Spencer on Saturday.

Senior Kylan Fitzgerald won the 195-pound sectional title while Jason Peta (120) and Juan Diaz (182) both placed second to advance to this Saturday's Class 2A District Meet at Orange City.

Fitzgerald completed his day efficiently with a pair of pins. In the semifinal, Fitzgerald gave up an early takedown to Spirit Lake Park's Preston Murray. However, the ELC senior promptly reversed Murray and put him on his back before the first period ended in 1:53. In the final, Fitzgerald need 3:05 to pin Spencer's Zach O'Clair. Fitzgerald enters the district meet with a 12-8 record.

Article Photos

At 120 pounds, Peta dominated Spencer's Dakota Amendt with a 12-1 major decision in the semifinal. In the final, Spirit Lake Park's Kyler Dunn, ranked fifth, was able to put Peta on his back in 1:32. Peta will take a 20-6 record into district competition.

Diaz started the day with a 20-8 semifinal victory over Spencer's Samuel Brandt. In the final, Cherokee's Treighton Schubert ended up pinning the ELC senior in 4:57. Diaz then faced a wrestleback against Okoboji's Cody Wintz. Diaz edged the Pioneer, 4-2, to advance to his first district meet. He enters district competition with an 18-11 record.

Four other ELC wrestlers came up short of a district berth, placing third on the day. They were Michael Houge (113), Jalen Tripp (138), Garrett Paulson (170), and Nick Egeland (220).

Houge lost his first match 9-5 to Okoboji's Jesse Bockman. In the third-place match, Houge made short work of Cherokee's Nathan Harvey, winning by fall in 41 seconds. However with Bockman not winning in the final, Houge did not receive a wrestleback. Houge ends the season with an 11-20 record.

Tripp also lost a decision, 7-3, in his semifinal match to Cherokee's Hunter Shaw. Tripp battled back in his third-place match with an 11-7 decision over Spencer's Cole Rutter. However, Tripp also did not receive a wrestleback, as the senior ended his final season with a 26-13 record.

Egeland lost by fall in 31 seconds to Spirit Lake Park's Dakoda Powell, but then won his third-place match by fall in 1:45 over Cherokee's Bryce Lussier. That earned Egeland a wrestleback against Spencer's Drew Thompson, but Thompson won by fall in 1:18. Egeland ends his senior season with a 7-15 record.

Chase Budach (145) and Nick Leonard (152) both placed fourth for ELC.

Budach won a quarterfinal match by fall in 5:57 over Spirit Lake Park's Zachh Jensen. However, he then lost by fall in 58 seconds to Isaiah Spencer of Spencer in the semifinal. In the third place match, Budach lost by fall in 6:22. Budach finishes his senior season with a 15-21 record.

Leonard also won a quarterfinal match, defeating Ridge View's Brody Lellefloren in 2:49. He lost his next two matches by fall to Spirit Lake Park's Kyler Reick and Okoboji's Jacob Bockman. Leonard ends the season with a 14-23 record.

Zack Anderson (132) and Isaac Hanson (285) both placed fifth for ELC. Anderson lost his quarterfinal match by fall, but came back with a pin in the fifth-place match. Hanson lost by fall in his quarterfinal and automatically placed fifth with only five wrestlers in the bracket. Eli Hanson (160) placed sixth.

District wrestling starts at noon on Saturday at MOC-Floyd Valley High School in Orange City

Class 2A Sectional Spencer

Team Scores

Spirit Lake Park 257, Spencer 210, Cherokee 164, ELC 152, Okoboji 147.5, Ridge View 85



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web